Duo Scacciapensieri Portrait


•Lorenz Matter •Cornelia Clivio •Duo


Disease lead to a dream job

Lorenz Matter
Krankheit
Lorenz Matter was born in 1969 and grew up in Wohlen in the Canton of Aargau.
With 12 he had to stop doing sports because of a growth disturbance. To go easy on his knee, he was only allowed to do cycling. As a consolation gift his parents offered him a unicycle, which had him recognize his talent in balancing – it took him half an hour to figure out how to ride the unicycle, then he started to practise every day. The door to the world of artistry had been opened and soon he added the study of acrobatics and handstands at the Ilg school in Zurich.
His unstable shoulders couldn’t stop his path to acrobatics, either (he had a carrying dispensation for weight exceeding 5kg during military service). They even turned out to be an advantage in learning the one-armed handstand, as he could only stabilize the shoulder when he was in the perfect position, thus learning the right technique for sure.
After graduating from College in Wohlen (AG), he studied 2 semesters of Physics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology ETH in Zurich. But the passion for artistry was greater and he interrupted his studies and moved to Paris with Cornelia to attend the Ecole Nationale du Cirque Fratellini. Story to be continued under  Duo

Cornelia Clivio
Cornelia
Cornelia Clivio was born in Zurich in 1963. After graduating from College she would have liked to learn a stage profession, but her parents disapproved a formation that would lead to an unprofitable life. So she went for Romance studies and became a College teacher to achieve financial independence and fulfil her dream. During her studies she participated in various open theatre groups. After getting her degree she started studies at the Comart.
Her need to pursue further education in acrobatics led her to Paris in 1990. There she learned all circus skills at the Ecole de Cirque Fratellini and studied stagecraft with theatre guru Philippe Gaulier. When she ran out of money, she came back to Switzerland.
Despite the late diagnosis of epilepsy and the treatment thereof, she remained unstoppable on her way to become an acrobat. Working with Lorenz, she omitted all rapid movements and together they found a calm and fluid acrobatic performance – the adagio number “Living Sculptures”.

Duo
Acroyoga
Cornelia and Lorenz met in Rome at a circus course in 1990. They interrupted their former lives as a college teacher and physics student and moved to Paris to attend the Ecole Nationale du Cirque Fratellini and theatre classes with Philippe Gaulier (Cornelia).
When they ran out of money, they moved back to Switzerland and went on with autodidactic formation through five hours of practice each day and various stays abroad (e.g. 3 months at the circus school Châlons-sur-Marne).
In 1992 they started to teach acrobatics in the academic sports club of the ETH/University of Zurich they’re employed in the Manege weekly to date.
At the very beginning of their career as Duo Scacciapensieri the acrobatics number was awarded with the 1993 “Kleiner Prix Walo”; this encouraged them in continuing despite the difficult circumstances. In 1994 their unicycling number won them the the Special Price at the Unicycling World Championships in Minneapolis (USA). This marked the beginning of bookings for all vaudeville stages, festivals and TV shows home and abroad (Europe, USA, Canada, Japan, Arab. Emirates).
In 1999 they were able to move into the Loft in Dietlikon, where living and practicing became possible all at the same place. The practice room allowed the elaboration and production of big stage shows. In 2001 the evening-filling stage program Stage TV was created together with Romano Carrara and Daniela Lager. It has been performed over 500 times all over Europe and was awarded numerous prizes.
The birth of daughter Irina in 2005 contributed to the creation of children’s courses in the Loft.
In 2007 they developed and produced the next evening program: coloro. The first parts of the show were only just created as they were invited to “Le plus grand cabaret du monde” in Paris (France2), to the “CreaTVty award” as well as “Benissimo” on SFDRS and to the “Rose d’or” in the KKL in Lucerne to name but a few. It became ever more difficult to find the balance between family and job.
In 2008 came the big break. Coloro was getting ready for the great tour through Japan and Europe, as Lorenz constantly lost strength. The doctors diagnosed Lorenz with lymphoma in the last stage. To make bad things even worse, an aortic aneurysm was discovered close to the heart. After the successfully terminated chemotherapy came a short period of recovery, before the upcoming difficult heart operation; fortunately everything went well here, too, and Lorenz made it back to stage (report Aeschbacher/ Kulturplatz). In autumn 2010, 2 years late, coloro could finally perform its Swiss premiere at the Casinotheater Winterthur: it was celebrated by the audience with a standing ovation (report 10vor10). 2010 coloro won the award “artist of the year” in Germany in the category “innovative show”.
But the illness had left its mark and raised (vital) questions. Stage success became secondary and other values became more significant. Thus Cornelia and Lorenz learned to be yoga teachers in 2012-2013 with Marcel Stöckli (Living Buddha) and Lorenz studied thai yoga massage and Dorn therapy.
In 2013/(2014) silk/aerial yoga studies at Yogamar – Philipp Henn.
In 2015 Cornelia and Lorenz were amongst the 2000 candidates of the show DGST (“die grössten Schweizer Talente”, the greatest Swiss talents) with coloro and reached the final show.

Comments are closed.

Portrait Duo Scacciapensieri


•Lorenz Matter •Cornelia Clivio •Duo


Über Krankheit zum Traumberuf

Lorenz Matter
Krankheit
Lorenz Matter wurde 1969 geboren und wuchs in Wohlen (AG) auf.
Im Alter von 12 Jahren musste er wegen einer Wachstumsstörung mit dem Sport aufhören. Nur noch Radfahren war erlaubt, um das Knie zu schonen. Als Trost schenkten ihm die Eltern ein Einrad und so erkannte er sein Talent fürs Gleichgewicht – nach einer halben Stunde hatte er das Einradfahren erlernt und trainierte von da an jeden Tag. Dies öffnete ihm die Tür zur Artistenwelt und bald trainierte er zusätzlich Akrobatik und Handstände an der Ilg Schule Zürich.
Seine instabilen Schultern (im Miltär hatte er eine Tragdispens ab 5 kg!) konnten seinen Weg zur Akrobatik nicht aufhalten und waren für das Erlernen des einarmigen Handstandes sogar ein Vorteil, da er nur in der perfekten Position die Schulter stabilisieren konnte und so die richtige Technik lernte.
Nach der Matur an der Kantoschule Wohlen (AG) studierte er zwei Semester Physik an der ETH Zürich. Die Leidenschaft für die Artistik war aber grösser und so brach er das Studium ab und zog mit Cornelia nach Paris, um dort die Zirkusschule Fratellini zu besuchen. Weiter geht es unter Duo

Cornelia Clivio
Cornelia
Cornelia Clivio ist 1963 in Zürich geboren. Nach der Matur hätte sie gern einen Bühnenberuf erlernt, aber ihre Eltern waren gegen eine Ausbildung, die zu einem brotlosen Dasein führt. Daher entschied sie sich für das Romanistikstudium und wurde Mittelschullehrerin, um danach finanziell unabhängig zu sein und ihren Traum zu verwirklichen. Während dem Studium war sie in verschiedenen freien Theatergruppen aktiv und begann danach eine Ausbildung an der Comart.
Ihr Bedürfnis, sich vor allem in Akrobatik weiterzubilden, führte sie 1990 nach Paris, wo sie an der Ecole de Cirque Fratellini sämtliche Zirkusdisziplinen erlernte und beim Theaterguru Philippe Gaulier das Bühnenhandwerk studierte. Als das Geld aufgebraucht war, kam sie zurück in die Schweiz.
Trotz der Epilepsie, die man erst spät diagnostizierte und behandelte, liess sie sich auf dem Weg zur Akrobatin nicht aufhalten. In der Arbeit mit Lorenz liess sie alle schnellen Bewegungen weg und gemeinsam fanden sie zu einer ruhig fliessenden Akrobatikdarbietung – die Adagionummer „Lebende Skulpturen“.

Duo
Acroyoga
1990 lernten sich Cornelia und Lorenz in Rom an einem Zirkuskurs kennen. Ihr bisheriges Leben als Mittelschullehrerin und Physikstudent wurde abgebrochen und sie zogen nach Paris, um die Zirkusschule Fratellini zu besuchen und Theaterunterricht bei Philippe Gaulier zu nehmen (Cornelia).
Als das Geld knapp wurde, kamen sie zurück in die Schweiz und bildeten sich autodidaktisch weiter mit fünf Stunden Training am Tag und verschiedenen Aufenthalten im Ausland (u.a. 3 Monate an der Zirkusschule Châlons-sur-Marne).
1992 begannen sie an der ETH/Uni Zürich im ASVZ Akrobatik zu unterrichten und sind dort bis heute wöchentlich in der Manege angestellt.
Gleich zu Beginn ihrer Karriere als Duo Scacciapensieri wurde die Akrobatiknummer 1993 mit dem Kleinen Prix Walo ausgezeichnet; dies ermutigte sie zum Weitermachen trotz schwierigen Umständen. Mit der Einradnummer gewannen sie 1994 den Special Price an der Einrad-WM in Minneapolis (USA). Dann ging es los mit Engagements auf sämtlichen Varietébühnen, Festivals und in Fernsehsendungen im In- und Ausland (Europa, USA, Kanada, Japan, Arab. Emirate, Dubai etc.).
1999 konnten sie in die Loft am Bach in Dietlikon einziehen, wo Wohnen und Trainieren unter einem Dach möglich war. Dank dem Proberaum konnten sie nun grosse Bühnenshows entwickeln und produzieren. Zusammen mit Romano Carrara und Daniela Lager entstand 2001 das abendfüllende Bühnenprogramm Stage TV, welches über 500 mal europaweit gespielt wurde und zahlreiche Kleinkunstpreise gewann.
2005 kam Tochter Irina auf die Welt, die dazu beitrug, Kinderkurse in der Loft anzubieten.
2007 entwickelten und produzierten sie das nächste Abendprogramm: coloro. Kaum waren die ersten Teile der Show fertig , hatten sie Auftritte für „Le plus grand cabaret du monde“ in Paris (France2), am „CreaTVty award“ des SFDRS, im „Benissimo“ SFDRS, an der „Rose d’or“ im KKL Luzern und viele mehr. Es wurde immer schwieriger, Familie und Beruf unter einen Hut zu bringen.
2008 kam der grosse Bruch. Coloro stand vor einer grossen Tournee durch Japan und Europa, als Lorenz immer schwächer wurde. Die Ärzte diagnostizierten Lymphdrüsenkrebs im letzten Stadium. Als wäre dies nicht genug, wurde noch ein Aortenaneurysma direkt beim Herz festgestellt. Nach der erfolgreich abgeschlossenen Chemotherapie gab es eine kurze Erholungspause, bevor dann die schwere Herzoperation bevorstand; auch hier verlief glücklicherweise alles gut und Lorenz schaffte die Rückkehr auf die Bühne (Bericht Aeschbacher/ Kulturplatz). Im Herbst 2010 konnte dann coloro mit zweijähriger Verspätung endlich die Schweizer Premiere im Casinotheater Winterthur aufführen, welche mit einer Standing Ovation vom Publikum gefeiert wurde (Bericht 10vor10). 2010 bekam coloro die Auszeichnung „Künstler des Jahres“ in Deutschland in der Sparte „Innovative Show“.
Doch die Krankheit hat Spuren hinterlassen und (Lebens-) Fragen aufgeworfen. Der Erfolg auf der Bühne trat in den Hintergrund und andere Werte gewannen an Bedeutung. So machten Cornelia und Lorenz 2012-2013 bei Marcel Stöckli (Living Buddha) die Yogalehrerausbildung und Lorenz bildete sich weiter in Thai-Yoga Massage und Dorntherapie. 2013/(2014) Ausbildung in Tuch- bzw. Aerial Yoga bei Yogamar – Philipp Henn.
2015 schaffen es Cornelia und Lorenz mit coloro bei DGST (die grössten Schweizer Talente) bis ins Finale (bei total 2000 Bewerbern).

Kommentare sind geschlossen.